About the ARWC

Expedition Racing

What is Adventure or Expedition Racing?

Adventure Racing is where four person teams compete in a human powered race on a course which traverses exotic wilderness areas. The course is defined by a series of checkpoints which must be visited in sequence. The format of an Expedition Race is nonstop and typically takes a winning team 4-6 days. Navigation and strategy are huge factors in the success of a team.

Imagine doing the Comrades Marathon, the Cape Argus and the Duzi Canoe Marathon all back to back, 3 times over without rest and doing them all off road through some of the most inhospitable terrains imaginable. That is a bit of what Expedition Racing is like.”

What is the Adventure Racing World Champs?

The AR World Series unites in competition the worlds best endurance athletes at premiere qualifier events around the globe. The top two teams at each of these races gain a coveted position on the start line of the annual pinnacle of the sport, the AR World Championship.

The AR World Championship has defined the sport of Adventure Racing and crowned the worlds top Adventure Racing teams since 2001. Each year a qualifier event is chosen to host the championship.
They accept:
- The top two placed teams at each qualifier,
- The highest placed all national membered team from each qualifier if they were not placed 1st or 2nd,
- The previous AR World Champions, and second placed team from previous AR World Championship,
- And allocate wild card entries.

The ARWC is the pinnacle of the sport of Adventure Racing. The World Championship is hosted by one of a series of 11 aligned international events forming the climax of the AR World Series. Now in its 13th year the ARWC attracts 70 teams from 50 nations. This year’s World Championship takes place in November in Australia .

History of the Adventure Racing World Champs?

Year Host Nation Winning Team Winning Nationality
2001 Switzerland Team Nokia Finland
2004 Canada Team Nike ACG USA
2005 New Zealand Team Balance Vector New Zealand
2006 Sweden Team Nike USA
2007 Scotland Team Nike USA
2008 Brazil Team Orion Health New Zealand
2009 Portugal Team Helly Hanson UK
2010 Spain Team Buff Thermacool Spanish
2011 Australia Thule Adventure Team Sweden
2012 France Team Seagate New Zealand
2013 Costa Rica Thule Adventure Team Sweden
2014 Ecuador Team Seagate New Zealand
2015 Brazil Team Seagate New Zealand
2016 Australia Team Seagate New Zealand

What can be expected from the course in Australia?



Max Altitude



5 - 12 days of non stop racing.

Estimated hours

104 Hours


Mountain biking
Rope progression


70 of the worlds best teams



Get in Touch With Us!

Feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.

Validation error occured. Please enter the fields and submit it again.

Thank You ! Your email has been delivered.